Menu Plan for Week 41 of 2012

Menu Plan MondayTwo weeks ago I was on my own for meals since my husband was out of town. So the plan I had come up with… well I didn’t really need it. There were enough leftovers to keep me well fed all week. So I moved that week’s plan to last week, which is why I did not post a meal plan last week. But life happens, things come up, and sometimes inspiration just hits you. Last week was one of those kind of weeks so I didn’t make any of the stuff from the plan, again.

Jump to next week’s menu.

Main Dishes

Breaded Pork Chops baked with Red Potatoes and OnionPanko Pork Chops with Red Potatoes and Onions - It was one of those rare moments where our schedules aligned and both myself and my husband were able to cook and eat dinner together! So we did what we do best and just made it up as we went along. What we ended up with was pork chops dipped in an egg wash, then rolled in a mixture of panko bread crumbs, dried chives, marjoram and fresh ground pepper, then baked for about an hour at 400°F on top of a bed of cubed red potatoes and yellow onion petals marinated with minced garlic in olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Read more…

Buffalo Joes – I had every intention of making the Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken that I planned on last week, and the week before that, but I discovered that I was all out of chicken! I did, however, have a plethora of ground beef. So I browned a pound of the beef, added 1/2 bottle of Sweet Baby Ray’s Buffalo Wing Marinade & Sauce, 3/4 of a packet of dry Ranch mix, and served it with sour cream (I was out of blue cheese) on whole wheat bread as a sloppy joe sandwich. It was a success, but very spicy and acidic so have a bottle of Tums handy! Read more…

Backyard Chicken Packets – No picture for this one! We made them in the dark. The weather is getting cold so we decided to end the weekend with a backyard campfire and to cook dinner over it. 1 serving: On a large square of tinfoil place 1 chicken breast, 1 Tbsp butter, and 1 Tbsp fresh chopped basil. Cut a lemon wedge (1/8 or less of a lemon) and squeeze the juice over the chicken. Add the squeezed lemon wedge on top of the chicken. Add salt & pepper to taste. On another large tinfoil square place 3 chopped small red potatoes, drizzle them with olive oil and topped them off with salt & pepper. Fold each square of foil into a pocket (learn how to fold tinfoil pockets). Cook over the campfire, turning every now and again until the chicken reaches an internal temperature of 165°F and the potatoes are easy to pierce with a fork.

Next Week’s Menu

My Pinterest Menu Board

Leave a Reply

